“If one’s compassion is great,

whatever one does will be Dharma”- Yuthok Yonten Gonpo

Tibetan Kundalini Yoga

With Yogini Shanti

Tibetan Yoga is about “naked” awareness “Rjen pa” the Tibetan word means exposed, bare, raw – unprocessed, unfiltered, untreated. Tibetan Kundalini Yoga is one of the simplest and most sophisticated teaching.

I pray that these simple techniques of breathing, mudras, seed mantras, meditation and visualizations, affirmations and asana will be awakened within many practitioners and that they will spontaneously benefit many others until samsara ends.

There are five main energy centers in the spine and two in the head. Kundalini yoga attempts to locate these energy centers and channelize them through meditation. Kundalini shakthi kriya essentially means to dissolve all karmic patterns or conditioning and merge into the transcendental reality. It also means deep concentration and making an effort to obliterate the ego, thereby rising to a higher state of consciousness, called Turiya (The fourth stage in human).


Stages of Kundalini Yoga

  1. Yama 2. Niyama, 3. Sthula Kriya (gross practices) 4. Suksma Kriya (subtle practices), 5. Pratyahara (withdrawing the senses), 6. Dharana (concentration), 7. Dhyana, (Meditation) 8. Kundalini Kriya (awakening the kundalini) 9. Samadhi (Trance stage)

Kundalini yoga involves techniques of meditation that cause the energy or Prana to move in certain ways, to awaken the Kundalini, the coiled up energy at the base of the spine. Kundalini yoga channelizes the energy forces in the Kundalini instead of merely controlling the mind. It is important that the Kundalini is activated through performance of asanas, practice of pranayama and making a conscious effort to guide this awakened energy in the spine and allowing it to immerse in the crown chakra.

What is Kundalini?

The ultimate goal of Kundalini yoga for beginners is to attain supreme consciousness through pranayama and breathe control; it is a method to prevent fluctuations of the mind. The practice of Kundalini yoga cleanses and heal the mind and body. It uplifts the consciousness of the seeker. As most people live only on three levels of consciousness – material, egoistic and sensual – Kundalini yoga opens us to higher levels of consciousness. It teaches the seeker to locate the different centers of the spine and meditate on them, thereby transforming the consciousness.

Kundalini is the state of mind when one forgets all the objects of senses and gets absorbed in the object of meditation. Kundalini enables one to have perfect control over the five Tattvas (five elements), mind and Indriyas (senses). The fluctuations of mind will stop. The mind, body and Prana will be entirely subdued. For Kundalini Yoga, Sambhavi Mudra (gaze between the eye brow centre) is an effective method, in which one intently concentrates on any one of the Shat Chakras (Six Body Cakras). Trataka exercise plays a vital part in getting success in rising Kundalini. In due course of practice, the Yogin gets established in Samadhi. He becomes a Jivanmukta (liberated one).